Bottle Shock!

In 1976 a wine merchant in Paris organized a competitive wine tasting between the best Bordeaux wines and select Cabernet wines from the Napa Valley in California. The identity of the wines were concealed and all of the judges were French with impeccable professional credentials. At that time the French considered Napa Valley wines substantially inferior. Guess who won the tasting?stags leap

This tasting established Napa Valley as world class wine. Guess what wine Lee and I shared courtesy of our friend Paul? The actual wine at the tasting was a 1973 vintage, the 1974 vintage we enjoyed was actually higher rated than the 1973 that won the tasting. This 43-year old bottle of wine was incredibly fresh and vibrant. It was truly amazing.

server.JPG
The sommelier opened our treasure flawlessly and was rewarded with glass of wine which he whisked away to his office, dancing the whole way.

We enjoyed many wine treasures last week. It seems that Paul has an endless supply! I was determined not to buy any wine on our little side trip to Walla Walla wine country and even asked Lee to kick me if I wavered. Fortunately Lee kicked my left leg, which is protected by my brace, so I didn’t feel a thing. I joined two wine clubs and purchased wine at a third winery. Jimmy was having fun!

Beyond our incredible wine adventure we explored the Oregon’s Painted Hills, the John Day Fossil Beds and the lakes in the Cascade mountain range around Mt. Bachelor. Lee and I had a fabulous time and a much needed break with our friends Paul and Linda.

hills.jpg
The Painted Hills in the background
lake.jpg
Enjoying a beautiful day at Cultus Lake

Today we visited with Dr. P to review my CT scan from yesterday and to plot and plan our next step. Overall there has been disease progression since the last scan seven weeks ago. Some tumors did not grow but most had modest growth. What we previously thought to be a lymph node under my collar bone, turned out to be a metastasis on the top bone of my rib cage. The good news is that I feel great. My cough is under control, no temperature, sleeping well, no fatigue and a healthy appetite. I am working out at the gym five days a week and tomorrow I will resume working on a painting.

This afternoon I made an appointment for Tuesday to sign up on Hospice as I discussed in my last blog. Since I have this “no treatment” window, this gives us a perfect opportunity to get acquainted without a crisis environment. We anticipate that our research oncologist, Dr. M, will contact us in the next month or so regarding the “off label” treatment options and I continue to review clinical trials. Should I wish to pursue any treatment I will simply revoke Hospice.

In the meantime I believe it is approaching the cocktail hour.  Live life to its fullest!!

20 thoughts on “Bottle Shock!

      1. Yes I saw it this morning. Actually only about 3% of cancer patients do trials. Most community oncologist can’t keep up with their regular biz let alone track done trials. There are a lot of them but most are phase 1, which is to determine maximum tolerated dose. Phase 2 and 3 are more about efficacy. Finding a good phase 1 trial is not easy without professional help. You need to find something that makes good scientific sense based on the genetics of your tumor.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Jane. The drug Keytruda is ineffective on the type of tumors I have. Most tumors (80-90%) are like mine. The trial I was on was on was an attempt to break in to the tumor so Keytruda or a Opdivo could get the immune system to attack the cancer. They are still working on it.

      Like

  1. So glad that you had such a grand time with your friends. You and Lee certainly needed that happy time away. Know that we’re always thinking of you and that we are here if you need us. 🍷

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like your posts, Jimmy, I like that you are enjoying life, drinking your wine and painting. I am not sure I could drink the wine, my tummy is some delicate flower, but I may want to try again. I once visited the wineries in Napa, I work with automated print inspection system and we have customers that print wine labels there. I had fun! Being alive is not enough, living is, and I see that’s what you do. Feel good!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I hope your tummy improves. I always have evaluated treatment for both efficacy as well as impact on quality of life. You are right, being alive is not enough…living life is what is important to me.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jimmy, after reading your post, I put a little bottle of wine in the fridge and waited for my wife. She arrived with a little steak my mother in law had sent me. She had the wine but I stole a few good sips. You don’t know how much I enjoyed that. I told my wife we will get some more soon. This was a Cabernet Sauvignon from chile. A few years ago I used to bring a couple of bottles when I went there for work. That was before cancer. I will make a habit of drinking it more regularly. Thank you, Jimmy!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Your trip to Oregon sounds like it was wonderful. It was well deserved for you and Lee. I don’t know Jim, my $5.98 bottle of MOSCOTO from Walmart is pretty darn good. I suggest you try it. Tee Hee. Tee Hee. You and Lee take care. Sandi

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Jim, It looks like you had a great trip. Im forwarding your post to my cousin who lives in Paris, France 🙂 Take care and know that we are always thinking of you.

    Love,

    Cathy & Little Dee Dee

    P.S- I wish we had a happy hour here in Utah…:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

