Game On!

At the moment I am sitting in Chair One in my private chemo suite with a nice view of the trees in the courtyard and my own private toilet. And a huge staff onhand to attend to my needs. Jimmy be stylin!!

This is the first day of my phase one clinical trial of 

.  

I have no idea where they came up with that name, but you have to admit that the logo is cool. It will be a long day, about 11 hours here at the University of Arizona Cancer Center in Tucson today. I will repeat this procedure on Wednesday and Friday, with two hour days on Tuesday and Thursday. My infusion of the virus today lasted about 5 minutes. So why am I here for 11 hours? A clinical trial is experimental medicine. First they draw 16 tubes of blood for all kinds of analysis. Then they watch me like a hawk, checking my vitals and drawing more blood every hour or so to see if there are any changes.  They are also constantly checking on me to see how I feel, if I need a pillow or blanket or something to eat, even dropping by to tell me the soup of the day (split pea). They want to make sure I am not having any negative reaction. I am the second patient they have for this trial, there are only about 10 nationwide at the moment. For this study there will only be 40 nationwide over five sites.  

Three hours ago my body was infused with 12,000,000,000,000,000 live  oncolytic viruses whose sole purpose in life is to seek out cancer cells, infiltrate tumors and start killing them while notifying my immune system there is a battle to fight. I will have two more of these infusions this week. Although this virus is effective in penetrating tumors, but is not strong enough to eradicate them by themselves. So, in ten days, they will give me a dollop of the immunotherapy  drug Opdivo to hopefully fully activate the immune system to begin destroying those tumor discovered by the virus.  

So far so good.

21 thoughts on “Game On!

  1. Thanks for the update Jim. I am surrounding you with love and light. I envision you with your red cape on standing tall and regal ready to take on this fight. You go my friend! Hugs, Lynn Maier

    Liked by 1 person

  2. so, what do you do all day besides giving blood? do you have to sit in your recliner with just bathroom privileges? could you stroll about the grounds? with all those nurses maybe you could get a card game going. got a tv in there? i like watching the circus in washington. i know you’ll keep us posted. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Jim,
    As always, you sound very positive and upbeat, very encouraging. Like you said, so far so good.
    I’m really happy to hear you have your own private toilet, those side-by-side military-type potties are good for up close and in person conversations, but bad for privacy! šŸ™‚
    Rex

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

