Session Eight, time for a date.

Today I completed my eighth chemo session. However that’s not the most important news of the day. Today is my love’s birthday!!   OK everyone, on the count of three..1…2…3: Happy Birthday Lee!!!!  Such occasion requires celebration.  Perhaps not the easiest thing to do on a chemo day, but so what!   After a wonderful lunch prepared by Chef Lee, we both embarked on new paintings.  A painting date!  Lee did some finger painting and I just magically got paint everywhere, what messy fun.

Today’s session was uneventful.  My blood work looks great, everything is in the normal range.  The combined power of The Oregon Duck and red wine is strong.  In the next two weeks I’ll have another CT scan and CEA blood test to reveal the size and activity of the evil tumors.  Until then we’ll just continue painting, enjoying the company of friends and some good red wine along with DUCK football!!  The first game is this Saturday and we are ready!

I have reached new plateaus in my art adventure, I did a painting of a dog.  First cats, then a roadrunner and now dogs!  Are there no boundaries to my artistic genius, you may ask.  Of course the answer is tons of boundaries, but I’m having fun and enjoy making people smile with my goofy works.  I am currently working on three projects, two custom pet portraits and one Jimmy oddity.  Life is amazing and wonderful.

Meet Betsey Brown. My first painting of a dog and what a great dog she was.
Meet Betsey Brown. My first painting of a dog and what a great dog she was.
This afternoon working on  Bodhisattva in my studio on the kitchen counter.
This afternoon working on Bodhisattva Cat in my “studio” on the kitchen counter. 
Monsoon View From My Backyard.   This is my first real attempt of a landscape.  I plan on doing a series of this for each Sonorian Desert season:  Monsoon, Fall, Winter, Spring and Summer. Each will feature different dessert animals and Catus I see from my backyard. It's probably year chemo drugs, my Timothy Leary effect.
Monsoon View From My Backyard. This is my first real attempt of a landscape. I plan on doing a series of this for each Sonoran Desert season: Monsoon, Fall, Winter, Spring and Summer. Each will feature different desert animals and cactus I see from my backyard. It’s not really my fault, it’s probably the chemo drugs. My Timothy Leary effect.
Kathmandu.   This is my first  landscape I did for a contest not long after I began painting. Socking that I didn't win!
Kathmandu. This is my first landscape I did for a contest not long after I began painting. Shocking  that I didn’t win!

23 thoughts on “Session Eight, time for a date.

  1. Happy birthday to Lee!
    – Kathmandu!! Your creativity is boundless 😉
    – and I would definitely adopt Betsy, given the chance! You did a great job “capturing the essence” with her!
    We’re looking forward seeing you on our return in just a couple months, now!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gosh…wish I’d known that it is Lee’s birthday when I spoke with her this morning. Gee…what a fun trek for a birthday celebration…Walmart?! At any rate…Happy Birthday to Lee and fingers crossed for good things for you, Jim.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy Birthday Lee!

    Love your paintings Jim, would love to commission you to capture Josie and Bruce in all their feline loveliness with an Asbellian twist. Any interest?

    Your posts are such an inspiration!! Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers as you await the test results.

    Like

  4. Hi Jim, I pray for you daily. You are teaching me good stuff, as usual. Most importantly knowing you has made me a better person! Thanks.

    Only the best to you and Lee.

    –Matt Pugel

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You’re doing great, Jim! And your attitude is scary–if you’re a c cell. I too think there’s great therapy in painting–and maybe a lucrative future, Huh? Happy birthday to your bride.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

